Romans Chapter Titles and Bible Study

By Tod Kennedy

Summary: Romans presents God’s truth in its three categories–divine establishment, gospel, and doctrine for believers–and demonstrates the effects of God’s truth upon mankind. The heart of this letter is the barrier between God and man and the solution to this problem. The gospel of Jesus Christ, the Messiah, is the solution. The gospel  message is that God’s righteousness is offered to mankind based on the death and resurrection of Christ; man receives God’s righteousness by faith alone in Christ alone.

Section 1, God’s Righteousness and Man’s Unrighteousness, Romans 1-3

  1. Chapter 1, Positive and negative volition at work
  2. Chapter 2, Judging others is being self righteous
  3. Chapter 3, All people are sinful

Section 2, God Gives His Righteousness through Faith, Romans 4-5

  1. Chapter 4, Righteousness through faith
  2. Chapter 5, Justification gives benefits

Section 3, Living the Christian Way of Life Is Possible, Romans 6-8

  1. Chapter 6, Union with Christ makes the Christian way of life possible
  2. Chapter 7, The Old Sin Nature inside
  3. Chapter 8, The Holy Spirit inside

Section 4, God’s Plan for Israel, Romans 9-11

  1. Chapter 9, Mercy through believed promise
  2. Chapter 10, Israel needs faith righteousness
  3. Chapter 11, Always a grace remnant

Section 5, Day to Day Christian Living, Romans 12-16

  1. Chapter 12, A new kind of priesthood
  2. Chapter 13, Authority orientation and the Christian Way of Life
  3. Chapter 14, Give freedom instead of judgments and obstacles
  4. Chapter 15, Onward and upward
  5. Chapter 16, Personal notes and greetings